A Walk In Sand County

Here’s a random story: After I went on my first hunting trip, a staff member from the Aldo Leopold Foundation contacted me. She wanted to know if I was interested in being in a booklet about the diverse paths that bring people to hunting. I agreed to an interview and helped write a little blurb about myself.

Last week, they asked me to come up to Wisconsin for a photo shoot. I figured this was a good time to learn more about the Leopold Foundation. During the week, I read Aldo Leopold’s most famous work on the land ethic, A Sand County Almanac. In it, Leopold describes his farm in Sauk County, Wisconsin through the seasons, focusing on the comings and going of all the creatures that live on his land. He also describes his ethical approach to wildlife and forest ecology. On Saturday, we toured the farm that inspired the book.

To paraphrase Leopold, there are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot. These photographs are the delights and dilemmas of one who cannot. 

Leave a Reply

